The Association organised the Annual Cricket Tournament 2010 on Saturday, the 3rd April 2010 at P.J. Hindu Gymkhana Ground. The tournament was dedicated to our beloved Past President, late Sir Purshottamdas Thakurdas. Several members were present to cheer the players. It was a great occasion for fellowship and bonding amongst the CAI family members. Four teams representing Buyers, Sellers, Brokers and Ready Brokers were formed.

Shri. Radhamohan B. Chokhani was the Chief Guest and presented the prizes to the winners.

Shri. Uday Thakkar, Chairman of CAI’s Events Committee ably assisted by Shri. Kishore Chheda, Shri. Kiran Bheda, Shri. B.S. Bangdiwala and Shri. Raja Gokulgandhi put things together for the event. The teams took to quick practice sessions in the morning to give each other a tough and challenging competition. The format of the tournament comprised three matches – two Semi Finals of twelve overs each, one between the team of Buyers v/s. Ready Brokers and another between Sellers v/s. Brokers. The final of 15 overs between the two winning teams of Semi Finals.

The matches began with great enthusiasm and fanfare. In the first round, Ready Brokers team lost to Buyers and Brokers team lost to Sellers team in the second match. The stage was set for an exciting final between Buyers team headed by Shri Dhiren N. Sheth and Sellers team headed by Shri Nayan C. Mirani. Both the teams made valiant efforts and finally,
Sellers Team clinched the Sir Purshottamdas Thakurdas Memorial Cricket Tournament Trophy. 

The winners in other categories were –

Man of the Match  
(First Semi Final) : Shri. Nilesh Chheda
Man of the Match  
(Second Semi Final) : Shri. Mohit D.Shah
Man of the Match  
(Final) : Shri Nayan C. Mirani
Man of the Series : Shri Rishab J. Shah
Best Batsman  : Shri Vivek Khanna
Best Bowler : Shri Kunal Thakkar

Shri. Suresh Saraiyya, th famous cricket commentator was specially invited for giving running commentary. Professional Umpires and Scorer were also arranged for the event.
Shri. Uday Thakkar and his team indeed deserve to be congratulated for organising this exciting event successfully.

Image Gallery