Cotton Association of India organised Sir Purshottamdas Thakurdas Memorial Annual Cricket Tournament 2015 in memory of its illustrious and much loved Past President, the late Sir Purshottamdas Thakurdas on Saturday, 4th April, 2015 at the P.J. Hindu Gymkhana Ground, Marine Lines, Mumbai. Several members from the cotton fraternity were present to cheer the players.

Shri. Bhagwatiprasad R. Mahadevia was the Chief Guest and presented the prizes to the winners.

There were four teams representing (i) Buyers (ii) Sellers (iii) Brokers and (iv) Ready Brokers with each team consisting of 12 players (11 + 1 extra). The format of the tournament comprised three matches of 12 overs each. The first match was between the Brokers and Ready Brokers teams followed by the second match between the Buyers and Sellers teams. The winning team in the first and second matches played the final match.

First Match – Brokers Team v/s Ready Brokers Team

While the Captain of the Brokers Team was Shri.  Rishit S. Dholakia; the Captain of the Ready Brokers Team was Shri. Kasturchand D. Shah. The Ready Brokers team won the toss and elected to field. The Brokers Team scored 98 runs for the loss of seven wickets in 12 overs with stellar batting from Shri. Viral Shah (23 runs), Shri. Rishit S. Dholakia (22 runs) and Shri. Kiran Bhadra (17 runs). Shri. Punit K. Shah took 3 wickets.

The Ready Brokers Team scored 102 in 8 overs for the loss of one wicket and won the match by nine wickets with the help of Shri. Punit K. Shah (23 runs) Shri. Udit P. Lakdawala (28 runs not out) and Shri. Punit Verma (17 runs not out). Shri. Tanmay Daga took one wicket. The Ready Brokers Team won the match and Shri. Punit K. Shah was declared Man of Match.

Second Match – Buyers Team v/s Sellers Team

The Captain of the Buyers Team was Shri. Dhiren N. Sheth and the Captain of the Sellers Team Captain was Shri. Nayan C. Mirani. The Buyers Team won the toss and elected to bat. The Buyers Team scored 60 runs for six wickets in 12 overs with the help of Shri. Sunil Sonawane (25 runs retired) and Shri. Karthik K. Khatau (13 runs).Shri. Nirmal G. Shah took 2 wickets.
The Sellers Team scored 63 runs in 8 overs with the loss of four wickets. Their scoring batsmen were Shri. Kaushik Hariyani (27 runs not out) and Shri. Sanjay Chauhan (15 runs). Shri. Rajiv M. Sandhu took three wickets. The Sellers Team won the match by six wickets. Shri. Kaushik Hariyani was awarded the Man of Match.

Final Match – Ready Brokers Team v/s Sellers Team

The Captain of the Ready Brokers Team was Shri. Kasturchand D. Shah, while the Captain of the Sellers Team was Shri. Nayan C. Mirani. The Ready Brokers Team won the toss and decided to field. The Sellers Team scored 68 runs, all out in 10 overs, with Shri. Vikas and Shri. Nayan C. Mirani scoring 8 runs each. Shri. Kasturchand D. Shah took 3 wickets while Shri. Punit Verma and Shri. Ritesh took 2 wickets each. The Ready Brokers Team scored 73 runs in 5 overs without the loss of any wicket and won the match by 10 wickets with the help of Shri. Udit P. Lakdawala (22 runs not out) and Shri. Punit K. Shah (25 runs retired). 

Shri. Kasturchand D. Shah was awarded Man of the Match award. The Best Bowler award was won by Shri. Punit K. Shah, the Best Batsman award went to Shri. Udit P. Lakdawala, while the Man of the Series was won by Shri. Punit K. Shah. 

Shri. Pankaj Kotak, Chairman of CAI’s Events Committee, ably assisted by Shri. B.S. Bangdiwala, Shri. Ashok D. Patel, Shri. Kiran Bheda and Shri. Kishor Chheda organised the cricket tournament.

Image Gallery